Account/Shopping Cart (0 items $0.00)
JCR products and services are based on U.S. standards and regulations

This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation, providing feedback, analyzing your use of our products and services, assisting with our promotional and marketing efforts, and provide content from third parties. Get more information about cookies and how you can refuse them. Learn more.

Four New Members Appointed to Joint Commission Board

Added on February 13, 2014 in General News, Press Releases

View the multi-media news release

(OAKBROOK TERRACE, Ill.) The Joint Commission today announced the appointment of health care experts Grant Davies, Jane Englebright, Ph.D., R.N., and Gregg S. Meyer, M.D., MSc, and education leader Aurie Hollingsworth “Holly” Miller, B.A., M.A., to the Board of Commissioners. 

Davies is the CEO of North Bay Hospitals and the executive vice president for the California Pacific Medical Center, in San Francisco, all part of the Sutter Health system. He oversees seven acute care hospitals with more than 1,400 beds and 34,000 annual admissions in the West Bay region of Sutter Health.  Prior to joining Sutter Health, he managed physician practices and outpatient operations for both the University of Utah Hospital and the University of Colorado Hospital. He serves on numerous community boards, with interest in healthcare reform. Davies holds a bachelor’s degree from South Dakota State University and a master’s degree from the University of Iowa’s department of Health Management and Policy. He is a Fellow in the American College of Health Care Executives, a Fellow of the California Health Leadership College and recipient of the ACHE’s Regent Award and Service Award.

Miller, who will serve as a public representative to the Board, is director of the City of Seattle Office of Education. She administers the Families and Education Levy, whose programs include early childhood education, afterschool programs, elementary, middle and high school academic support and health clinics. Performance data from the levy have demonstrated a link between use of health clinics and improvements in graduation rates, grades and attendance.  Levy health programs include health clinics at all comprehensive high schools, six middle schools and pilot services for preschool and elementary school children, elementary dental services and more intensive mental health services for at-risk high school students who have been expelled or suspended from school, and a family clinic at Seattle’s World School. Miller also administers the Seattle Youth Violence Prevention Initiative to provide outreach case management, aggression replacement therapy, mentoring, youth employment, recreation and neighborhood service projects for young people ages 12-17 at risk of violence or retaliation. She is now leading an effort to create universal preschool for the City of Seattle. Miller previously served as executive director of the New School Foundation and superintendent of the Seattle Department of Parks and Recreation. Miller also serves as an advocate for families who are encountering severe mental illness.  She holds a bachelor’s and master’s degree in history from the University of Georgia.

Dr. Meyer is the chief clinical officer at the Partners Healthcare System in Boston, Massachusetts. There he provides clinical leadership to system efforts in Population Health Management, information systems, value improvement, and quality and safety.  Prior to Partners, Dr. Meyer served as the chief clinical officer and executive vice-President for Population Health at Dartmouth-Hitchcock and was the senior associate dean for clinical affairs and Paul B. Batalden Professor and chair at the Geisel School of Medicine. Dr. Meyer previously held leadership positions at the Edward P. Lawrence Center for Quality and Safety at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Massachusetts General Physicians Organization and the Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety at the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).  He has served on numerous key committees related to quality and safety including the World Health Organization’s Scientific Peer Review Group on Health Systems Performance Assessment, Institute of Medicine panels, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Payment Reform Advisory Committee, the National Patient Safety Foundation’s Board of Directors and NASA’s Medical Policy Board. He is a graduate of Union College and Albany Medical College. He earned a master’s degree at Oxford University, where he was a Rhodes Scholar. In addition, he holds a master’s degree from the Department of Health Policy and Management from the Harvard School of Public Health and was a Colonel in the US Air Force.

Dr. Englebright, who will serve as the at-large nursing representative to the Board, is the chief nursing officer, patient safety officer and vice president for the Clinical Services Group at Hospital Corporation of America (HCA). As HCAs chief nursing officer, she represents 80,000 nurses, working at 165 HCA-affiliated hospitals and 115 ambulatory surgery centers across the United States and in London, England, working with chief nursing officers to advance patient-centered care and professional practice. Dr. Englebright is a member of the board of governors for the National Patient Safety Foundation, is a contributing member of the Lucian Leape Institute workgroup on Joy and Meaning in the Workplace, and serves as adjunct faculty to the Vanderbilt University School of Nursing. She also mentors graduate students in nursing, pharmacy, medicine and business programs for Vanderbilt University, the University of Tennessee and Austin Peay State University. She earned a bachelor’s degree in secondary and vocational education from Western Kentucky University and a bachelor’s in nursing from the University of Kentucky. She holds a master’s in nursing and a doctorate in nursing from Texas Woman’s University.

JCR announced the re-appointments of LaMar S. McGinnis, M.D., FACS, as chair of its Board of Directors and Clarion E. Johnson, M.D., as vice chair for 2014.  JCR is a not-for-profit affiliate of The Joint Commission. Dr. McGinnis is senior medical advisor and liaison to the American Cancer Society in Atlanta. He has served on The Joint Commission Board since 2005, appointed by the American College of Surgeons and on the JCR Board of Directors since 2009; he served as vice chair of the JCR Executive Committee in 2009 and vice chair of the Board in 2012. Dr. Johnson has served on the JCR Board of Directors since 2009 and has served on the JCR Executive Committee since 2011. 

JCR also announced the re-appointments of Tamra Minnier, R.N., M.S.N., FACHE; Nabil M. Kronfol, M.D., Dr.PH; and John Ovretveit, Ph.D. as external members to the JCR Board of Directors. Christopher J. Queram was re-appointed as an overlap member of the JCR Board.

“The Joint Commission and JCR boards are pleased to welcome these talented individuals who bring a diverse set of skills and experiences to our governing bodies, sharing a common passion for improving the safety and quality of healthcare,” says Mark R. Chassin, M.D., FACP, M.P.P., M.P.H., president and CEO, The Joint Commission. 


« Back


No comments have been posted to this News Article

Leave a Comment